Consumer Resources

EXPERIAN

P.O. Box 2002
Allen, TX 75013
1-888-397-3742
www.experian.com

 

EQUIFAX INFORMATION SERVICES, LLC

Disclosure Department
P.O. Box 740241
Atlanta, GA 30374
1-800-685-1111
www.equifax.com

 

TRANSUNION

P.O. Box 1000
Chester, PA 19022
1-800-888-4213
www.transunion.com

 

FREE ANNUAL CREDIT REPORT (Sponsored by the above credit bureaus)

P.O. Box 105281
Atlanta, GA 30348-528 1
1-877-322-8228
www.Annualcreditreport.com

Affordable Care Act (ACA) Tax Provisions: www.irs.gov/uac/Affordable-Care-Act-Tax-Provisions-Home

Annual Credit Report: www.annualcreditreport.com/cra/index.jsp

Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services: www.cms.hhs.gov/medicaid

Consumer Assistance for Employees (for Benefits): www.dol.gov/ebsa/contactEBSA/consumerassistance.html

Consumer's Guide To Credit Reports and Credit Scores: http://www.federalreserve.gov/creditreports/

Consumer Finance Protection Bureau: http://www.consumerfinance.gov/

Consumer Protection: http://consumeraction.gov/

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation: www.fdic.gov

Federal Housing Finance Board: www.fhfb.gov

Federal Reserve Bank: https://www.frbatlanta.org/education.aspx 

Federal Student Aid: http://studentaid.ed.gov

Federal Trade Commission: www.ftc.gov

Health Insurance Marketplace: www.healthcare.gov/

Making Homes Affordable: http://makinghomesaffordable.gov

Social Security Administration: www.ssa.gov

United States Small Business Administration: www.sba.gov

U.S. Department of Justice: www.usdoj.gov

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: www.hhs.gov

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development: www.hud.gov

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs: www.va.gov

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: www.sec.gov

American Association of Retired Persons (AARP): www.aarp.org

American Bar Association Referral Service: www.findlegalhelp.org

American Red Cross: www.redcross.org

Bankrate: www.bankrate.com

Better Business Bureau: www.bbb.org

Child Care Aware: www.childcareaware.org

Consumer Action: www.consumer-action.org

Consumer Affairs: www.consumeraffairs.org

Goodwill Industries: www.goodwill.org

Insurance Information Institute: www.iii.org

National Association of Securities Dealers: www.nasd.com

National Consumer Law Center: www.nclc.org

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws: www.nccusl.org

National DO NOT CALL List: 1-888-382-1222 - You must call from the phone number you want to have blocked.

National Network for Child Care: www.nncc.org

OptOutPresecrren.com: www.optoutprescreen.com

Practical Money Skills for Life: www.practicalmoneyskills.com

Reverse Mortgage: www.reversemortgage.org

Salvation Army: www.salvationarmy.org

Student Loan Repayment Information: www.ibrinfo.org

State Consumer Protection Offices (www.nolo.com/article.cfm)

Whether you've fallen prey to a consumer scam or just need information, your state or local consumer protection agency can help. Here's how to find the office in your area.

Every state has a consumer protection agency, and many cities and counties have similar agencies. Consumer protection agencies are a valuable resource to consumers. They perform all kinds of functions, including:

· educating consumers about their rights

· publishing pamphlets explaining state consumer protection laws

· publishing tip sheets with advice on how to avoid scams

· maintaining consumer complaint phone lines

· conducting investigations into consumer and financial scams

· enforcing consumer protection laws

· bringing civil lawsuits to stop scammers

· prosecuting scammers under criminal laws, and

· licensing and regulating various professions such as real estate brokers or insurance agents

To find the consumer protection office in your state, county or city, visit the federal Consumer Action website at http://consumeraction.gov/state.shtml.

Suggested classic and contemporary books to read where personal financial responsibility, money management, credit, debt, and/or debt repayment is a theme.

Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Death on the Installment Plan by Louis-Ferdinand Céline

Financial Peace by Dave Ramsey

Financially Every After: The Couples' Guide to Managing Money by Jeff D. Opdyke

Germinal by Émile Zola

Hamlet by William Shakespeare

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

Money Makes Me Crazy! A Prescription for Money Sanity by Ted McLyman

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

So Much for That by Lionel Shriver

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck

The Testament by John Grisham

The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey

The Ultimate Gift by Jim Stovall

The Women by T.C. Boyle

Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray

Welcome!

You need to have already registered to use this form